Disappointing Summer 2012 Vogue Release

10 May

The title explains how I feel about the new vogue summer pattern release – not a lot of new interesting designs.  In fact, some of the new patterns feel like variation of old ones.  Like the Rebecca Taylor V1299 which has a bodice flounce similar to the Badgley Mischka v1288 or the DKNY v1300 which has the same silhouette to Anna Sui v1217.  And don’t even get me started on the Kay Unger patterns, which are starting to look alike.  I don’t understand why the same silhouette is chosen all the time for the Kay Unger pattern release when the label also makes separates,  A line dresses, floor length dresses and dresses with sleeves.    Despite my disappointment, there were some good patterns in the mix and a new designer added on to the list.

My Picks

V1301

I have never been crazy about the collage of fabrics in Koos Couture garments.  But I do have an appreciation for the design and construction techniques he uses to bring his art to life.  Koos’ newest pattern doesn’t disappoint.  In fact, it’s more commercial than his usual patterns.  It’s a 70s boho chic dress that can be worn multiple ways by arranging the ties differently.  It’s a versatile dress. Personally, I would construct this garment in one fabric instead of the collage of fabric shown on the model.

V1309

I always have a soft spot for Issey Miyake and Chado Ralph Rucci patterns because of the technical complexity in their work.  The tunic top from Issey Miyake is quite unusual with the front and the back cut as one piece. The top should be easy to sew up since there are no seams except for the zipper placement.

V1310

The Chado Ralph Rucci pattern is also a simple design with a pullover top and a bias skirt that ties in the front.

V8812

I really love this vintage pattern because is classic enough that it doesn’t look dated.  This dress is perfect as a bridesmaid dress or even a dress to wear at a wedding or a summer BBQ.

V8810

The classic shirtdress with different detail options is a great addition to any sewer’s wardrobe.  The sleeve and skirt option makes this pattern flattering for all shape and sizes.

V8821

One of the new trends for this summer is the long back shirt or dress.  I am not a fan of the V8809 dress but I am a fan of the V8821 top and pants.  I love the fullness in the back of the V8821 top.  It’s a dramatic take on the long back trend that I haven’t seen before.

V8804

This Claire Schaffer pattern reminds me of an article she did for Thread magazine a couple years back on the construction techniques of a Chanel jacket.  I haven’t bought the pattern but I assume the construction instruction will be similar to the Thread article with an accompanied  pattern to work with.

V1297

I am a sucker for stripe fabrics and garments.  I love the bias placement of the stripe on the side panels, matching it perfectly to the vertical stripes on the front.  I can’t get over how perfectly they matched  those stripes.  Ahhh…stripe heaven.

New Designer

V1304

Vogue added a new designer on their pattern roster, Lialia by Julia Alarcon .  I would describe her design as architectural in a young modern way.  I love the seaming and draping she does on some of her designs however, a few of her designs are body conscious.

V1304 is from Julia Alarcon’s spring 2011 and fall 2010 collection.  For her spring 2011 collection, she constructed the dress in two colors and for her fall 2010 collection she did it in solid colors.  Very cute dress but I would make a muslin before making it with your final fabric because there might be fit issue with the bust and/or shoulder depending on your cup size and your frame.

V1305

V1305 is from Julia’s spring 2011 collection.  I really wanted to like this dress but it’s not flattering at all, not even on this model.  The length and the side ruching emphasize every lump and bump plus it shortens you unless you are 6 feet tall with a very thin build.  I actually would like this dress better if it was shorten to above the knee, which the designer actually did (check photos below) and it looks soo much better.  If you buy this pattern, take my advice and shorten it.

Leave a Reply

