Vintage Quaker Oats McCall Pattern Designed by Luis Estevez

19 Sep

One of the reasons why I started this blog was to get myself to sew more often.  However with the summer being sweltering hot in Toronto this year I wasn’t able to start on a project.  Now that the weather has cool down and I can move without breaking into a sweat I can finally start on my first project for this blog, a vintage 1959 Quaker Oats McCall’s pattern designed by Luis Estevez.  When I first saw this pattern I fell in love with it.  It’s demure with the length and coverage but yet sexy with the cut outs.  The sophistication of the design allows it to be worn both during the day and night.

I am not so sure about having the zipper closure on the front but for the muslin I will sew it as featured before making any changes.   The pattern is in a size 16 with a 36” bust and a 28” waist. The dress will be made in a black cotton pique with black cotton voile lining.

Since I bought this pattern uncut and unused, it has the original advertisement card featuring all three designs by Luis Estevez offered by Quaker Oats.

4 Responses to “Vintage Quaker Oats McCall Pattern Designed by Luis Estevez”

  1. kaitui_kiwi October 20, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    Wow, I love it! The cut-outs are beautiful. I am currently investigating 1930s patterns for a themed Christmas party – I think there will be enough Bonny & Clyde & Flapper girls so I’m looking for something much more unique and challenging – and I am discovering a pretty strong love for vintage patterns in general. I think the art work is what grabs me the most, they always look so elegant.

    • The Sewing Fashionista October 20, 2011 at 6:56 am #

      Collecting vintage patterns can be addictive and expensive. I have amass quite a bit through eBay. I focus mainly on Vogue and Mccall designer patterns from the 50s, 60s, 70s and some 80s. If you are looking for 30s pattern they are a little bit harder to find because there are less of them circulating around. If you are interested, Vogue pattern did a reprint of a 30s pattern – V2859 which is still available. These one V2671, V2560, V2241, V8686 and V8767 are just a few from the Vogue archive that are out of print but you might be able to get from eBay. Good luck with your search. I look forward to seeing your outfit.

  2. Bess October 4, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    Howdy! I recently acquired a cute Quaker Oats sewing pattern from the 60’s, and stumbled across both your blog post and another while doing research on it. The other blog post actually has the old commercial for this sewing pattern embedded! Thought you might like to see it. 🙂

    http://thosemoes.com/stitch/2011/06/07/sewing-patterns-from-quaker-oats/#.UG4RtWhLqwI

    • The Sewing Fashionista October 9, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

      Thank you for the video link. The commercial was enlightening and it helped me realize that the dress is as boxy and ill fitting on the television model as it was on me. I only got to sewing this dress in a muslin. I never got around to altering the pattern to have it fitted on me like the illustration shown on the pattern envelop.

Leave a Reply

