Costumes from the Toronto Caribbean Festival 2011 a.k.a Caribana

1 Aug

Taking a break from writing about sewing, I have decided to write a quick post about my participation in the Toronto Caribbean Festival and the beautiful costumes made for the parade.  This is my sixth year playing MAS (short for masquerade) in the Caribana parade and the costumes gets more elaborate with every year that I participate.  This year for the first time I played MAS with Saldenah, a veteran in Toronto’s Caribana parade since 1977.  The title theme for his band this year was “Secret from the Outer Limits”, so the costumes were loosely inspired by all things space and astronomical.  I chose the costume called Frozen Abyss of Sirius because of the color and drama of the costume.  Here are pictures of my costume in pieces minus the bikini bottom (not interesting just a plain bikini bottom) and the back pack (it’s pretty huge and it photographs better on a person).  They are a little bit worse for wear since it was photographed after my participation in the parade.

My headdress

Close up of my headdress

My blinged out bikini

Close up of the bikini top

My tail feather – Back of the belt

Front of the belt

Leg tie (tied below the knee)

Jewelry to match my costume

The complete look on parade day

Back view of my back pack (I have a tail that moves when I dance)

Closer view of my back pack

Here are pictures of the costumes that were displayed in the parade.

From Saldenah – D Visitors

From Saldenah – Black Hole

From Saldenah – Umbriel

From Saldenah – Super Nova

From Saldenah – Black Hole (Frontliner)

From Saldenah – Milky Way

From Mas Toronto – Ocean Warrior

From Mas Toronto – D’Eruption (Frontliner)

From Toronto Revellers – Over the Rainbow

From Toronto Revellers – Weathering the Storm

From Toronto Revellers – Dorothy (left) and Lullaby (right)

From Toronto Revellers – Glinda the Good Witch

From Carnival Nationz- Angel

From Carnival Nationz – Quetzal

From Carnival Nationz – Pheonix

Leave a Reply

