Fall 2012 Vogue Pattern Release

23 Oct

I am playing catch up with all of my postings.  I know the vogue fall patterns came out two months ago, but I figure I will do a quick review anyway.  This release was much better than the summer release.  There were a lot of garments with interesting design lines and details.  Here are my picks:

Rebecca Taylor V1316

I love this color blocked dress from Rebecca Taylor in grey, black and brown flannel.  It was from her 2011 F/W collection and the dress was retail at $395.  Instead of breaking the bank to own this dress, you can sew it up for less than the retail price.

Rebecca TaylorV1315

Another Rebecca Taylor dress from her 2011 F/W collection with long sleeves and a scoop neckline in a leopard print.

I feel the Vogue Pattern styling for the Rebecca Taylor dresses are too severe, I prefer a more casual styling which is more appropriate to the look of the brand.

DKNY V1313

A loose fitting dress with an expose front zipper.

For the color blocking of the DKNY dress I would change it up with a bolder, sportier color palette of grey and neon like this Urban Outfitter dress from Lucca Couture.

DKNY V1322

A notch collared cape straight out of DKNY 2011 F/W runway.

If you’re not crazy about color blocking than construct the garments in one color. The same DKNY cape was also produced in a solid color.

Chado Ralph Rucci  V1317

From Chado Ralph Rucci 2011F/W collection, this dress was made in synthetic suede for the runway. I like the Vogue Pattern version in double knit more because it drapes more fluidly on the body.  I read some reviews where some people found the waist tie unflattering because it added bulk to the front.  You can easily change the tie placement to the side (runway version) to minimize the front.

Issey Miyake V1320

This is the long version of the Issey Miyake 2011F/W houndstooth jacket.  I prefer the shorter version but the longer jacket has more versatility as a transitional fall to winter jacket. I saw this Polyvore style board and I thought the person did a great job styling this jacket.  The pop of color with the mustard scarf is a great way to introduce color in a neutral palette wardrobe.

Herringbone

Donna Karen – V1321

Two patterns from Donna Karen’s 2011 F/W Hitchcockian blonde theme collection – the first, a voluminous belted jacket with a shawl collar and the second, a beautifully draped cowled blouse with a side panel pencil skirt.

Donna Karen – V1324

Anne Klein V1325

A chic suit set from Anne Klein that includes the jacket, the blouse and the pants.  I especially love the tie blouse in this set.

One Response to “Fall 2012 Vogue Pattern Release”

  1. TinLizzie72 October 27, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    I was just studying some new Vogue patterns as well, and found some I like. It seemed like a pretty good collection of designs. I’m just not sure when I’ll have time to get any sewing done for a while, though!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

