Toronto Caribbean Carnival 2012

2 Sep

Been a busy last couple of weeks, from vacationing in New York, participating in Caribana, attending a wedding in Montreal and sadly even attending a funeral back home. I’m back now and here to post my experience playing mas (abbreviation for masquerade) at Caribana.
Candyland was the title theme of the band that I participated with. Sugary confections such as Juicy Fruit, Bubblicious, and Cotton Candy were the inspiration for the costumes. My costume, Eye Candy, wasn’t named after any sugary goodies, but since it has the word “candy” it kept to the theme.  I was feeling adventurous this year so I chose a caged bra instead of the regular bra top. Thankfully I had no wardrobe malfunction with the caged bra but it dug into my skin a little making it uncomfortable to wear.

I decided to play with a different band this year from the one I played with last year. I chose a band that has a reputation for being late with their costumes, but since I have played with them on two subsequent years, one year with no problem at all and the other year with late delivery on my backpack (the shoulder/back piece). I took a gamble and decided to play mas with this band again – what a dud my gamble turned out.

First, they gave me and my friends the run around regarding the pickup date for our costume; first it was Monday, then Wednesday, and finally Friday the night before the parade. I can’t even tell you how upset my friends and I were over this delay. Second, my friends and I get to the mas camp on Friday and were kept waiting for several hours for our costume. In the seven years of participating in Caribana this has never ever happened to me. I was so disgusted that they weren’t even apologetic about keeping us waiting for so long. By nine at night I received my costume minus my necklace and bracelet, I was too tired to hassle them for the missing accessories so I used my leg band as a choker as a substitute.

Despite the delay in my costume, I had a good time at the parade. The sweltering heat added to the festivities mimicking the tropic like our costumes.

One Response to “Toronto Caribbean Carnival 2012”

  1. cjgal September 2, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    These photos are amazing! Imagine how much work went into each of those stunning costumes, incredible!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

